Cult TV Awards Winners 2008

Tuesday, 30 December 2008 13:11

Before we announce the winners, as is customary for Cult TV at our Awards Ceremony, we now present our celebration of those who have departed from this dimension this year … Our thanks to Bob Setchfield for the huge amount of work he has put in to compiling this Obituary tape once more. And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for, the announcement of who has won what thanks to your votes in this year’s Cult TV Awards. Our congratulations to all our winners!

We were hoping to be able to announce the winners as a podcast, but unfortunately we just could not get the atmosphere of it right – there really is no replacement for a live event to house the Awards in! Event organisers who are running something in the Autumn of 2009, please do get in touch with us if you would be interested in hosting next year’s ceremony.



Best New Digital Series

WINNER: Sarah Connor Chronicles

NOMINATED: Reaper, Chuck, Blood Ties, Moonlight


Best New Terrestrial Series

WINNER: Heroes

NOMINATED: Ashes To Ashes, Pushing Daisies, Sarah Jane Adventures, Dexter


Best Returning Digital Series

WINNER: Supernatural

NOMINATED: Lost, Battlestar Galactica, Jericho, Boston Legal


Best Returning Terrestrial Series

WINNER: Doctor Who

NOMINATED: Torchwood, Primeval, CSI, New Tricks


Best Special/Miniseries


NOMINATED: The Colour of Magic, Cult TV (film24), The Kill Point, Life After People


Best Repeat Series

WINNER: The X Files (FX)

NOMINATED: Batman (BBC4), The Prisoner (ITV4), Dad’s Army (UKtv Gold), The A Team (Bravo)


Series They Shouldn’t Have Cancelled

WINNER: Jericho

NOMINATED: Bionic Woman, Shark, The Whistleblowers, Journeyman


Best Guest Appearance

WINNER: Bernard Cribbins (Doctor Who)

NOMINATED: James Marsters (Torchwood), Richard Briers (Torchwood), Julian Bleach (Doctor Who), Stan Lee (Heroes)


Breakthrough Performance

WINNER: Bret Harrison (Reaper)

NOMINATED: Yvonne Strahovski (Chuck), Lena Headey (Sarah Connor Chronicles), Yasmin Paige (Sarah Jane Adventures), Alex O'Loughlin (Moonlight)


Best New Title Sequence

WINNER: Pushing Daisies

NOMINATED: Ashes To Ashes, Chuck, Sarah Connor Chronicles, Sea Patrol


DVD Presentation

WINNER: The Prisoner (Network)

NOMINATED: Futurama – Bender’s Big Score (TCFHE), Lost – Season Three, Heroes – Series One, Stargate SG-1 – Complete Series 1-10


Cult Personality

WINNER: Harry Hill

NOMINATED: Chris Evans, Charlie Brooker, Richard Dawkins, Paul O’Grady


Hall of Fame – Series

WINNER: Quantum Leap

NOMINATED: Captain Scarlet & The Mysterons, Randall & Hopkirk (Deceased), The Man from UNCLE, Battlestar Galactica


Hall of Fame – Actor

WINNER: William Shatner

NOMINATED: David Tennant, Martin Landau, David Jason, Scott Bakula


Hall of Fame – Actress

WINNER: Helen Mirren

NOMINATED: Catherine Tate, Alyson Hannigan, Freema Agyeman, Eliza Dushku


Hall of Fame – Director

WINNER: Joss Whedon

NOMINATED: David Nutter, Derek Martinus, Jeannot Szwarc, Michael E Briant


Hall of Fame – Producer

WINNER: Jerry Bruckheimer

NOMINATED: Barry Letts, Rick Berman, Ronald D Moore, Stephen J Cannell


Hall of Fame – Writer

WINNER: Rod Serling

NOMINATED: Nigel Kneale, Aaron Sorkin, Matthew Graham, Steven Moffat


Hall of Fame – Hero

WINNER: Buffy The Vampire Slayer

NOMINATED: Sam Tyler (Life on Mars), Hiro Nakamura (Heroes), Jack Bauer (24), Claire Bennet (Heroes)


Hall of Fame – Villain

WINNER: Sylar (Heroes)

NOMINATED: The Hood (Thunderbirds), The Sontarans (Doctor Who), The Cylons (Battlestar Galactica), Rover (The Prisoner)


Hall of Fame – Special Effects

WINNER: John Horton

NOMINATED: Dan Rebert, Gary Hutzel, Christian Manz, Gary D'Amico


Hall of Fame – Costumes

WINNER: Glenne Campbell (New Battlestar Galactica)

NOMINATED: Terry Ryan (Farscape), Andrew Pallack (1960s Batman), Dee Robson (TV Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy), Daphne Dare (1960s Doctor Who)


Hall of Fame – Animated Character

WINNER: Top Cat (Boss Cat)

NOMINATED: Bender (Futurama), Charley (Public Information Films), Hong Kong Phooey, Cartman (South Park)


Hall of Fame - Advert

WINNER: Drench – Brains from Thunderbirds

NOMINATED: Snickers – Mr T, Specsavers Free Reactions – Thunderbirds, R Whites – Secret Lemonade Drinker, Cadbury’s Flake


Hall of Fame – Music

WINNER: Angelo Badalamenti (Twin Peaks, Profiler)

NOMINATED: John Williams (Lost in Space/Time Tunnel/Land of the Giants), Michael Giacchino (Lost, Alias), Christophe Beck (Buffy, Angel, Day Break, The Practice), Bear McCreary (Sarah Connor, Battlestar Galactica)


Hall of Shame – Worst Line of Dialogue

WINNER: Murdock: Face, we haven't got time for that. Boy George is waiting behind the sheriff's office - we've got to go! (The A Team)

NOMINATED: WOTAN: “Doctor Who is required” (Doctor Who ‘The War Machines’); Batman: Stop fiddling with that atomic pile and come down here! (Batman); The Doctor: Deactivating a generator loop without the correct key is like repairing a watch with a hammer and chisel - one false move and you'll never know the time again (Doctor Who); Jerry: Ben, as your attorney, your friend, and your brother, I strongly suggest you get a better lawyer (Twin Peaks)


Hall of Shame – Worst Special Effect

WINNER: The Galactic Trig Aliens (The Tomorrow People)

NOMINATED: Meat Monster (Torchwood 'Meat'), The Radiation Monsters (Space 1999 'Bringers of Wonder'), Horta (Star Trek 'Devil in the Dark'), The Demon Cromm Cruac (Robin of Sherwood)


Hall of Shame – Worst Continuity Clanger

WINNER: James T Kirk’s middle initial as an “R” on his gravestone (Star Trek ‘Where No Man Has Gone Before’)

NOMINATED: Captain Kirk's uniform (Star Trek 'Charlie X'); Straker using his 1980 car in a 1971 flashback (UFO 'Confetti Check A-OK'); The changing shape of the planet Terminal (Blake's 7); The changing length of Starbuck’s hair (Battlestar Galactica 'The Gun on Ice Planet Zero')


Last modified on Thursday, 10 May 2012 16:37

denizli escort denizli escort