Print this page

Torchwood Soundtrack CD

Saturday, 13 September 2008 07:48

Well, Doctor Who has its own CD soundtrack releases, so it had to happen that someone would have the good sense to release the highlights of what is a highly emotive contemporary score composed by Ben Foster and Murray Gold out into the wider world.

And so it is that the rights to the high octane musical pinnacles from the Torchwood series have been snapped up by Silva Screen Records. On this first release we get the best from seasons one and two – 32 tracks that are positively cinematic in their realisation. The sleeve notes describe the orchestral folk brought in to step things up a level from the usual TV music executions.

Torchwood Soundtrack CDAs someone who reckons that Torchwood still has yet to realise the potential its format offers, it has to be said that the music is actually one of the finest things thus far about the series.

Front of stage in this was Ben Foster, who acted as orchestrator and conductor for Murray Gold on Doctor Who, and then went on to co-write with Murray the music for the first two series. Ben started his film and television career with scoring over 30 short films for various European directors. He subsequently went on to writing for a variety of programmes (Love On A Saturday Night, and The Great British Test series for ITV). He’s written the current arrangement for the title theme of BBC's Question Time and has also worked as the orchestrator on the recent The Hitch Hikers Guide To The Galaxy movie, The League Of Gentlemen's Apocalypse, Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging, and The Mummy – Tomb of The Dragon Emperor.

Murray Gold is best known for his powerful score for Doctor Who which is widely regarded as a major element in the revival of the classic cult series. From his ground-breaking, BAFTA-nominated score for Vanity Fair, to the RTS Award-winning soundtrack to Queer as Folk (where he first worked with Russell T Davies). Murray is one of the most accomplished composers working in television today.

The soundtrack is well worth slipping into your car’s CD player, is released on 22 September, and has an RRP of £9.99 – or less from

Thanks to Cult TV and Silva Screen Records, you could have had the opportunity to put one of three copies of this CD into your collection, in our prize competition. All you had to do was tell us the answer to the following question: On which series did Murray Gold and Russell T Davies first work together? The answer was Queer as Folk, and the winners were Vivien Brook of Truro, Carolyn Hollingworth of Castleford, and Martin Ling of Enfield.  Well done all!

Torchwood soundtrack listing

1. Everything Changes

2. The Chase

3. Ghosts

4. Sleepers, Awake!

5. Toshiko and Tommy

6. Into The Hub

7. The Mission

8. Gray’s Theme

9. Jack’s Love Theme

10. Another Day, Another Death

11. Look Right, Then Leave

12. Welcome to Planet Earth

13. The Plot

14. Out of Time

15. The Death of Dr Owen Harper

16. King of the Weevils

17. Owen Fights Death

18. The Woman on the Roof

19. Owen’s Theme

20. Pearl and the Ghostmaker

21. Flat Holm Island

22. A Boy Called Jonah

23. Toshiko Sato - Betrayal and Redemption

24. Gwen and Rhys

25. Jack Joins Torchwood

26. Captain Jack’s Theme

27. I Believe In Him

28. Memories of Gray

29. Goodbyes

30. Death of Toshiko

31. The End Is Where We Start From

32. Torchwood Theme

Last modified on Thursday, 10 May 2012 16:37